Manila, Manila, I keep coming back to Manila!

Wow, I can’t believe the golden girl just had the final leg of her backpacking trip to the Philippines.

After how many days spent on different places in the Philippines, I realized that maybe I still needed to stay a bit more to the home country I’ve missed for more than 30 years. I thought it would be nice to catch up again with friends and relatives before going back to the States. It was saddening that I already had to wrap up my trip but good thing I was able to spend the last days in one of the most exciting places in the Metro – in Eastwood City, Libis, Quezon City.

Despite the hustle and bustle, Manila welcomed me again after coming back from Davao with warmth and nostalgia regardless of its modernity. I had a comfortable shuttle ride from Ninoy Aquino International Airport Terminal 3 going to Eastwood City in Quezon City c/o Citylink bus with a fare worth less than 100 bucks. It was a nice and convenient trip that made me feel secured from getting lost going to my destination not to mention that I thought it was a lucky day since I didn’t experience the heavy traffic.

I had my room accommodation in Eastwood Le Grand, a condominium residence in Eastwood City that I booked easily through Airbnb. The unit owner was so thoughtful that she also prepared a bottle of red wine for me as a welcome gift. As I lay down to rest, a great idea popped into my head. I thought it is a good investment to own a unit and have it registered in AirBnb. With so many travelers going in and out of the Philippines – tourists, businessmen, even international students – I realized that there’s a guaranteed return on investment in such kind of rental business. I am only left with a very important decision to make – which property should I invest in? Where is the perfect location that is suitable for my target tenants? Oh well, this is something to think about when I get back to the US since I also have to discuss this with my husband. I hope he agrees to this. We can have a holiday together here in the Philippines without any worrying about the accommodation if we can get ourselves a property to invest in.

During my stay in Eastwood City, everything is within my reach and almost right at my doorstep. Shopping, dining, leisure, entertainment and a very nice place to stay – everything is complete in Eastwood City. No need for a ride to go to a shopping mall, or to eat and drink with family and friends in a fine or casual resto. I had fun strolling around and enjoyed the sights in Eastwood City like its park and the Hollywood-like walk of fame. I was also able to cap off the last leg of my backpacking trip with shopping at Eastwood Mall and Eastwood City Walk. (Yay! Shopping! Good thing I wasn’t charged for extra baggage, lol.)

And so for my last day, I still got the chance to drop by on Saint John Paul II Parish inside Eastwood City. I was able to say my thanks to the Lord for giving me the opportunity to have my golden year backpacking trip to the Philippines. Looking back, despite that it took me more than 30 years to do this trip, I really felt a long, warm and welcoming hug as I landed to every places I’ve been through in Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao. Thank you, Pilipinas, for the best golden year trip I’ve ever had! Now that I am more capable enough, I would love to see you again soon and more often. Who knows, I could probably retiring with you, too!

Tapos na ang maliligayang araw (Happy days are over). One day, I woke and realized I am already back in America. It’s such a relief that everything isn’t a dream. It was a real backpacking holiday to the Pearl of the Orient, ang Pilipinas kong mahal (my beloved Philippines).

Leave a Reply

